Sussex Karate Association
Sussex Karate Association
Sussex Karate Association

Sussex Karate Association
Sussex Karate Association
Tel: 07874 261450   E-Mail:
Sussex Karate Association
Worthing Karate Classes


Gradings for all students are held on a regular basis, approximately every 4 months, and play a large part in measuring the progress of a Karate student both for themselves, and for their instructors to gauge the progress of the student.

Each grading is made up of three elements:

Kihon – These are the basic techniques of Karate. This is where the examiner will ask the student to perform a series of fundamental techniques so that he can see if they are performed correctly by the student.

Kata – A kata is a set of pre-arranged movements which demonstrates blocking and striking against an imaginary opponent. There are 26 kata in the Shotokan system. Students are expected to learn a new kata for each grading up to 1st Kyu level. Beginner kata is very simple and consists mainly of just one style of block and punch. Advanced kata is far more complicated and is made up of various movements, including open handed strikes, different kicks and even jumping movements.

Kumite – This is a session of sparring. At beginner level this will be a set of pre-arranged punches and blocks for the student to perform. For more senior grades it involves free format sparring against the instructor or higher grade student.

Like any progressive exam system, the gradings become harder the further the student progresses through the belts. The student must demonstrate to the examiner that they have trained hard and reached the correct standard between each belt before they will be awarded the next grade. Training must be done on a regular basis to achieve high grades.

The kihon, kata and kumite are set out in the ASK syllabus and are in keeping with the requirements and standards set by the chief instructor Robert Birchlea, 7th Dan.

Please note that Karate is a journey in the pursuit of perfection of both technique and character. Also, please note that although encouraged for personal attainment and satisfation, students are never forced into taking a grading, purely encouraged.

Kyu grades: The Kyu ranks start at 10th Kyu (White belt) and proceed up to 1st Kyu, the rank just before 1st Dan black belt.

Dan grades: These ranks are granted to individuals who have achieved a recognised level of competence through years of training in Shotokan. The Dan ranks start at 1st Dan (black belt).

Please contact Robert on 07874 261450 to discuss your personal requirements